The Shard : Champagne, sunsets and more! 

Having lived in London for almost a year during my days at the Uni, I most defnitely consider it my second home now. I tried to walk as much of the city as I could to discover it – and believe me there is so much to cover! But one of the unique experiences that you must idulge in should include a trip to a building called : The Shard.

Located in central London, bang in the middle of the city, The Shard is exactly what you think it sounds like – a piece of broken glass. But no wait, I don’t actually mean that. It’s a spectacular modern building built near the Thames which is structured like a piece of Shard and has been featured consistently and prominently in a lot of major magazines and luxury travel sites. A particular reason for its imminent fame is actually the fact that The Shard is a breathtaking 95-storey Skyscrapper with astounding views of the entire burough of London!

So when I was close to leaving London for good, to come back home and grudgingly sink back into routine; my friends and I decided to visit the Shard one evening and finally see for ourselves what the fuss was about. Skyscrapper with a 360 degree view of a crowded bustling city like London? How good could it be to leave visitors gaping in awe? Because L-Town is really crowded and bustling with tourits and locals alike. It couldn’t really look much different from 95 storeys high could it?

Was I ever wrong to dismiss it. The Shard is such a spectacular building, it makes you feel under dressed no matter which best dress you chose from your closet! As soon as you enter the lobby (which is impressive mind you) you have to scan your ticket barcodes against the scanner, then are whisked away by one of the smart looking chaps towards the escalators and asked to press the appropriate floor’s button with a dashing smile. The escalator has aa generic video about the Shard playing on loop and is completely enclosed so you have no clue what you would be stepping out into once you reach the floor. The Shard also has a restaurant and a bar on one of the top floors but that day we had bought our tickets for just a visit with Champagne.

When we stepped out onto the floor we were amazed by how spacious it was and how….comfy?! I mean, I’ve been to a lot of tall towers in various cities over the years that offer 360 degree views of their towns but this? This trumped them a bit by providing a space which was warm and comfy and made me want to walk around in circles all night long! A reason for this was the fact that they knew their target audience very well. Most tourists who visit such places love to spend some time until they can see the city slowly ebb into darkness and witness glorious sunset hues across the horizons. But if it’s a barren floor with a few wooden chairs strewn across the floor plan, it doesn’t seem very welcoming does it? And a bar in one corner of the floor plan seems cliched. I’ve often gotten bored and just stared at my phone until my companions decided they had enough of the views and wanted to descend into reality and truly ‘live’ the city. That however, did not occur even once this time! Picture lovely vines creeping up a corner and a cutesy ice cream cart on one side of the floor with a live bar across. Would you really want to leave such a place before enjoying some fresh ice cream flavours on the 72nd floor high up in the skies over London Town? Nope.

The observation deck is a lovely spot with a small section that is open to the skies. You can truly marvel at the architecture from that point; you can see the section of the building which appears from outside as the jagged broken part of glass. To view the london eye on one end and then the london bridge on the other is such a delight especially as the sun begins to set and on lookers fall into a hushed silence and simply ‘live’ the moment, quietly…together…all at once.

The ticket prices are no doubt higher than conventional observation decks and attractions in the city but then it is quite a spectacular space and building! I think it is a sound investment, really, and honestly for a sunset lover like me? This was perhaps one of the best sunsets of my life so far.  They do have a lot of schemes and discounts on group tickets once in a while so do check their website before you book your tickets. I personally suggest buying tickets online from their website (E-tickets are so easy peasy!) as they claim it’s cheaper than buying it on the spot from their lobby; I have used it myself and can assure you it’s hassle free. The tube station is quite nearby and conveniently located so if you love traveling local like me – I suggest you DO because cabs in London can suck you dry #expensiveaffairs – a visit to The Shard is one of the coolest experiences to live in London.

Cheerios!

One thought on “The Shard : Champagne, sunsets and more! 

Add yours

  1. That is an extremely smart written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to learn extra of your useful information. Thank you for the post. I will certainly return.

    Like

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑