Post-Watch: The Harry Potter Experience

So as a new series I’m starting what I’ve decided to call the “Post-Watch” series. I share a lot of photos regularly on Instagram as a way of socially connecting and sharing my adventures but I usually, almost always actually, have something to share about that picture. I rarely have take one of those ‘artistic’ shots if you know what I mean. Every picture I capture has a story or a memory associated with it. That’s how I remember things. If you knew me you would know what a horrible memory I have; to the extent that one of my best friend’s labelled me as a gold-fish. And no I’m not happy about that nickname since she involuntarily always introduces me to strangers as ‘fish’

Anyway, the story behind this picture is related to the Warner Bros Studios Harry Potter Tour I took with one of my closest friend in London. We were about to leave Uni for good (QueenMary, University of London represent y’all 🙌🏻) and as part of the #potter generation this was obviously a MUST! We couldn’t dream of leaving London without this tour!!

And so that day when London was shining at its best, two grown ass women (err..girls) sat in the bus excitedly and waited impatiently to watch the grand doors of the Great Hall of Hogwarts School of Witchraft & Wizardry swing open magically to welcome them.

I think I almost cried when that happened! 😑 So anyway, even before we left we were sure of two things we really desperately “needed” when we reached there. Number one : Bertie Botts Every Flavoured Beans and Number Two: BUTTERBEER 🍻 Are you even surprised really?

A lot of people are mistaken when they think of the Tour here. It’s assumed that the place is perhaps a recreation of Harry’s world, of Hogwarts. But in fact it’s just a bunch of classic props from when the movie was being made that have been preserved and resurrected so to say in the vast studio. So you’re going to see the Mirror of Erised right next to Dumbledores grand room. (Weird right)

Nonetheless the grandeur of the films is revealed via a million props and to see all that hard work come together on the screen to result in a flawless record smashing movie series? Just Spectacular!

Now another item on the list for us was to walk Diagonal Alley, just like the Weasely’s had for generations.  *sigh* If only we could see the stores Harry and his friends visited! But to have an entire alley in a studio? We didn’t think that was possible. But were we glad to be wrong! There right in the middle of the studio was Diagon Alley! With an exact replica of Gringrotts Bank and the Weasley’s sweet (& trick) shop as well!

photo 15-06-15 1 51 07 pm
The lighting throughout the place was not conducive to shooting pictures or videos unfortunately

The curio shop at the end of the tour had the beans and the chocolate frog along all other sweet treats you only read about in books and wanted to taste for real! But right before that, situated in the cafeteria, was the golden elixir we had been waiting for since the day Harry himself took the first sip! BUTTERBEER! Children and adults alike lining up for it was a sight to behold.

We waited until everybody was gone to get this shot!

I think that day we could have easily done with more than one cup of it but someday we are hoping these would be sold across all the world in your corner store in a bottle. A girl can dream 🙂
Btw, we are still awaiting those letters from Hogwarts.

So if you’re ever in London, go live the movies and have a butterbeer or two!

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑